jota sherd

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Find coordinates (within a 5-meter radius): 38.414888, -6.444758

Description: This sherd I found down along the small, mid-mountain ridge which is all but invisible from the top of the mountain. This piece offers a view of some fairly intricate design work done on what would have been its exterior; note the blue paint surrounding the design; the more I look at it the more I wonder whether what I think is dirt in the center is actually a corroded metal and whether what I call blue is actually a shade of green patina along its edges. Curious.

Because an old man on the mountain told me that the house foundation very near to the findspot is that of a Roman house, I’m curious to know whether this piece is an example of Roman ceramic work.

Leave a comment